Blue the Great Dane

Over the years we have experienced many cases of the uniqueness that endears dogs to us all regardless of their shape, breed or size.
One thing that has become very clear is that most dogs have a guarding instinct in some form coupled with a perception of distance.
One of the funnier episodes which clearly demonstrates both facets happened with “Blue” named because of his colour- he was one of the biggest Great Danes I have ever handled with that oh so typical Great Dane temperament of the gentle giant.
One night my husband and I were lying in bed when a group of guys decided to hold a party out on the road past our house.
It was about 1.30 am and after standing about 20 minutes of the groups yahooing and throwing beer cans etc I decided to do something about it.Pulling on some clothes I told my husband to call the cops if he heard me yell out. I slipped out into the kennels and slipped a lead and chain on “Blue” figuring that his size would lend some strength to my request for the drunken goup to move on.I ambled out onto the road with ‘Blue” beside me and standing a safe distance back from the vehicle said” Excuse me, would you mind holding your party somewhere else.” With that a rather large Maori started lumbering towards me and asked “What makes you think we are going to shift lady” It immediately went through my mind “Bad Choice Jones , they cant see this blimmin
dog” and whilst Im still thinking what my next move might be the guy lumbering towards me obviously broke that boundary that dogs have- “Blue” started growling and snarling- the chain was shaking and as “Blue’s” head would be almost level with mine it was impressive. The guy who had been lumbering towards me stopped post haste and exclaimed “Jesus Christ lady we’re shifting” Needless to say they did move on.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.